Open an account
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
Apply for IPOs
- Mainboard IPOs
- Yes
- SME IPOs
- Yes
Sell your IPO shares
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- DP charge on a sale
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI Direct: strengths and things worth checking
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Strengths
- Bank-linked
ICICI Bank customers can also apply for IPOs through net banking (ASBA).
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Futures trades cost no brokerage on the Neo plan.
Company and registration
| Company | ICICI Securities Limited |
|---|---|
| SEBI stockbroker registration | INZ000183631 |
| Website | icicidirect.com |
| Size | One of the five largest brokers by active clients on NSE (September 2026) |
ICICI Direct account opening and AMC charges
| Charge | As published by ICICI Direct |
|---|---|
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| AMC, basic services demat account (BSDA) | No AMC for holdings up to ₹50,000 |
ICICI Direct brokerage charges
| Segment | Brokerage |
|---|---|
| Equity deliveryWhen you sell IPO shares | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| Equity intraday (Neo plan) | ₹20 per order |
| Futures (Neo plan) | ₹0 |
| Options (Neo plan) | ₹20 per order |
| Currency and commodity derivatives | ₹20 per order |
Other ICICI Direct charges
| Charge | As published by ICICI Direct |
|---|---|
| DP charge on selling delivery sharesWhen you sell IPO shares | Not stated on the pages we checked |
Sources: ICICI Direct account opening and Neo plan, ICICI Direct SME IPOs, read on 23 Oct 2026. GST at 18% applies on brokerage and most charges unless stated. Charges change; check ICICI Direct's page before you open an account.
Government and exchange charges
These are set by the government, SEBI and the exchanges, and are the same at every broker.
| Charge | Equity delivery | Equity intraday |
|---|---|---|
| Securities transaction tax (STT) | 0.1% on buy and sell | 0.025% on sell |
| Exchange transaction charge | NSE 0.00307%, BSE 0.00375% | NSE 0.00307%, BSE 0.00375% |
| SEBI fee | ₹10 per crore | ₹10 per crore |
| Stamp duty (buy side) | 0.015% | 0.003% |
| GST | 18% on brokerage, exchange and SEBI charges | 18% on brokerage, exchange and SEBI charges |
Government and exchange rates as listed on the Zerodha and Indiabulls Securities charges pages, read on 23 Oct 2026.
What it costs to sell your IPO shares on ICICI Direct
Applying for an IPO carries no brokerage. Costs come when you sell. For IPO shares worth ₹15,000 sold from your demat account (our calculation):
| ICICI Direct brokerage | Not published |
| GST on brokerage | Not published |
| DP charge with GST | Not published |
| Charged by ICICI Direct | Not published |
|---|---|
| STT (0.1%) | ₹15.00 |
| Exchange and SEBI charges | ₹0.48 |
| All charges on the sale | Not published |
ICICI Direct brokerage calculator
Enter a trade to see every charge. The example is one SME lot of 800 shares bought at ₹179 and sold at ₹190.
| Charge | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Our calculation from each broker's published charges and the government and exchange rates above (NSE). For delivery, the DP charge is added once on the sale. Where a broker does not publish a charge, it shows as not published.
Applying for IPOs on ICICI Direct
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
|---|---|
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
How to apply for an IPO on ICICI Direct
- Find the IPO. Open the IPO section of the ICICI Direct app or website while bidding is open, and pick the IPO.
- Enter your bid. Enter the number of lots and either tick cut-off price or enter a price within the band. SME IPOs need a price; cut-off is not allowed.
- Approve the UPI mandate. Approve the mandate in your UPI app before 5 pm on the closing day. The money is blocked, not debited, until allotment.
- Check allotment and sell if you choose. Allotted shares reach your ICICI Direct demat account the next working day. You can sell from the listing day.
Any demat account also lets you apply through ASBA in your bank's net banking. See the IPOs open this week.
How to open a ICICI Direct account
- Keep your documents ready. PAN, Aadhaar linked to your mobile number, a bank account with a cancelled cheque or statement, and your signature on white paper.
- Start on icicidirect.com. Sign up on the ICICI Direct website or app with your mobile number and email, and verify the OTPs.
- Complete KYC online. Enter your PAN and Aadhaar details, link your bank account, and upload a photo and signature. Most brokers also do in-person verification by video or selfie.
- E-sign the form. Sign the account opening form with an Aadhaar OTP. The account is usually active within one or two working days.
Compare ICICI Direct with other brokers
- ICICI Direct vs Angel One
- ICICI Direct vs Groww
- ICICI Direct vs Upstox
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs 5paisa
- ICICI Direct vs Alice Blue
- ICICI Direct vs Bajaj Broking
- ICICI Direct vs Bigul (Bonanza)
- ICICI Direct vs Choice
- ICICI Direct vs Dhan
- ICICI Direct vs FYERS
- ICICI Direct vs Geojit
- ICICI Direct vs HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)
- ICICI Direct vs IIFL Capital
- ICICI Direct vs Indiabulls Securities
- ICICI Direct vs INDmoney
- ICICI Direct vs Jainam
- ICICI Direct vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
- ICICI Direct vs m.Stock
- ICICI Direct vs Mirae Asset Sharekhan
- ICICI Direct vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
- ICICI Direct vs ProStocks
- ICICI Direct vs Rupeezy
- ICICI Direct vs Sahi
- ICICI Direct vs SAMCO
- ICICI Direct vs Stoxkart
- ICICI Direct vs Tradejini
All brokers and charges compared
Frequently asked questions
What are the ICICI Direct account opening charges?
₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Demat AMC: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.
What is the ICICI Direct brokerage on delivery?
Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%". Intraday: ₹20 per order.
What is the ICICI Direct DP charge?
Not stated on the pages we checked. The DP charge is collected each time you sell shares from your demat account, including IPO shares.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct?
Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI.
How do I apply for an IPO on ICICI Direct?
Open the IPO section of the ICICI Direct app, pick the IPO, enter the lots and price (or cut-off for mainboard IPOs), and approve the UPI mandate before 5 pm on the closing day.
What does it cost to sell IPO shares on ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish all the charges needed to work this out on the pages we checked. Ask for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan.
Is ICICI Direct registered with SEBI?
Yes. ICICI Securities Limited is registered with SEBI as a stockbroker, INZ000183631. You can confirm it on the SEBI website.
What is the ICICI Direct margin trading (MTF) interest rate?
Not stated on the pages we checked.
Is ICICI Direct good for IPO investors?
It depends on how you invest. Compare the yearly AMC, the cost to sell IPO shares and SME IPO access below with other brokers. We list facts from ICICI Direct's own website and do not rate or rank brokers.