5paisaSEBI INZ000010231
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹25/month + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹38.94Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where 5paisa and ICICI Direct differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | 5paisa | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹38.94 | Not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹38.94 | Not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹467.28 | Not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 at 5paisa, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page at 5paisa, ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 per executed order at 5paisa, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹15.34 per scrip per day at 5paisa, not stated at ICICI Direct.
The same at both: mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.
5paisa vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between 5paisa and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | 5paisa | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, in the current IPO section | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
| SME IPOs | Yes, SME IPOs are listed with an apply option | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 per executed order | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹15.34 per scrip per day | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000010231 | INZ000183631 |
For other trading, futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the 5paisa and ICICI Direct pages.
5paisa and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking
5paisa
Strengths
- Cheaper dealer orders
- ₹0 pledge
- SME IPOs
Worth checking
- Two pages, two headline prices
The brokerage charges page shows ₹0 "for all trades" while the pricing page lists ₹20 per order. Confirm which applies before you open an account.
- AMC
₹25 a month plus GST as listed.
- Flat ₹20 on delivery
Even small IPO share sales pay ₹20 brokerage.
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: 5paisa vs ICICI Direct
| Charge | 5paisa | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what 5paisa and ICICI Direct would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with 5paisa or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, 5paisa or ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: 5paisa ₹38.94, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between 5paisa and ICICI Direct be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on 5paisa and ICICI Direct?
Both let you apply for SME IPOs.
Is account opening free at 5paisa and ICICI Direct?
5paisa: ₹0. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.
What is the demat AMC at 5paisa and ICICI Direct?
5paisa: ₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page. ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.