Angel OneSEBI INZ000161534
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹240/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 or 0.1%, lower
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Angel One and ICICI Direct differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Angel One | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹41.30 | Not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹47.20 | Not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹495.60 | Not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 for residents at Angel One, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹60 a quarter plus GST, charged after the… at Angel One, ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Angel One, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 plus GST per scrip at Angel One, not stated at ICICI Direct.
The same at both: mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.
Angel One vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Angel One and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Angel One | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 for residents | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Free in the first year, then ₹60 a quarter plus GST, charged after the first trade in a quarter | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
| SME IPOs | Yes, NSE Emerge and BSE SME IPOs, marked with an SME tag. Allotted SME shares can be sold from the app | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹20 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Angel One; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women) | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000161534 | INZ000183631 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Angel One and ICICI Direct pages.
Angel One and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking
Angel One
Strengths
- Free first month
- Cheaper dealer orders
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹60 a quarter plus GST (₹240 a year plus GST) for a regular demat account.
- Brokerage and DP charge on delivery
Up to ₹20 per order plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge when you sell.
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: Angel One vs ICICI Direct
| Charge | Angel One | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Angel One and ICICI Direct would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Groww
- Angel One vs Upstox
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs ICICI Direct
- ICICI Direct vs Upstox
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Angel One vs INDmoney
- Angel One vs m.Stock
Every comparison with Angel One or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Angel One or ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Angel One ₹47.20, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Angel One and ICICI Direct be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Angel One and ICICI Direct?
Both let you apply for SME IPOs.
Is account opening free at Angel One and ICICI Direct?
Angel One: ₹0 for residents. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.
What is the demat AMC at Angel One and ICICI Direct?
Angel One: Free in the first year, then ₹60 a quarter plus GST, charged after the…. ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.