Open an account
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
Apply for IPOs
- Mainboard IPOs
- Yes
- SME IPOs
- Yes
Sell your IPO shares
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 or 0.1%, lower
- DP charge on a sale
- ₹3.50 depository
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Groww: strengths and things worth checking
Worth checking
- Brokerage on delivery
Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.
- DP charge on sale
₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.
Strengths
- ₹0 AMC
No yearly demat maintenance charge, which helps if you only hold IPO shares now and then.
- ₹0 account opening
Opening an account is free.
- SME IPOs in the app
SME IPOs appear with an apply option on Groww.
Company and registration
| Company | Groww Invest Tech Private Limited |
|---|---|
| SEBI stockbroker registration | INZ000301838 |
| Depository participant | IN-DP-417-2019 |
| Website | groww.in |
| Size | One of the five largest brokers by active clients on NSE (September 2026) |
Groww account opening and AMC charges
| Charge | As published by Groww |
|---|---|
| Account opening | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 |
Groww brokerage charges
| Segment | Brokerage |
|---|---|
| Equity deliveryWhen you sell IPO shares | ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 |
| Equity intraday | ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 |
| Futures and options | ₹20 per executed order |
| Commodity | ₹20 per executed order (commodity F&O) |
| Direct mutual funds | ₹0 |
Other Groww charges
| Charge | As published by Groww |
|---|---|
| DP charge on selling delivery sharesWhen you sell IPO shares | ₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100 |
| Auto square-off | ₹50 per position |
| Pledge | ₹20 plus GST per ISIN per pledge or unpledge |
| Margin trading (MTF) interest | 14.95% a year on the funded amount |
| Call and trade | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Payment gateway | Not stated on the pages we checked |
Sources: Groww pricing, Groww help: how to invest in an IPO, Groww SME IPOs, Groww F&O pricing, read on 23 Oct 2026. GST at 18% applies on brokerage and most charges unless stated. Charges change; check Groww's page before you open an account.
Government and exchange charges
These are set by the government, SEBI and the exchanges, and are the same at every broker.
| Charge | Equity delivery | Equity intraday |
|---|---|---|
| Securities transaction tax (STT) | 0.1% on buy and sell | 0.025% on sell |
| Exchange transaction charge | NSE 0.00307%, BSE 0.00375% | NSE 0.00307%, BSE 0.00375% |
| SEBI fee | ₹10 per crore | ₹10 per crore |
| Stamp duty (buy side) | 0.015% | 0.003% |
| GST | 18% on brokerage, exchange and SEBI charges | 18% on brokerage, exchange and SEBI charges |
Government and exchange rates as listed on the Zerodha and Indiabulls Securities charges pages, read on 23 Oct 2026.
What it costs to sell your IPO shares on Groww
Applying for an IPO carries no brokerage. Costs come when you sell. For IPO shares worth ₹15,000 sold from your demat account (our calculation):
| Groww brokerage | ₹15.00 |
| GST on brokerage | ₹2.70 |
| DP charge with GST | ₹23.60 |
| Charged by Groww | ₹41.30 |
|---|---|
| STT (0.1%) | ₹15.00 |
| Exchange and SEBI charges | ₹0.48 |
| All charges on the sale | ₹56.87 |
Groww brokerage calculator
Enter a trade to see every charge. The example is one SME lot of 800 shares bought at ₹179 and sold at ₹190.
| Charge | Groww |
|---|
Our calculation from each broker's published charges and the government and exchange rates above (NSE). For delivery, the DP charge is added once on the sale. Where a broker does not publish a charge, it shows as not published.
Applying for IPOs on Groww
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or two |
|---|---|
| SME IPOs | Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww |
How to apply for an IPO on Groww
- Find the IPO. Open the IPO section of the Groww app or website while bidding is open, and pick the IPO.
- Enter your bid. Enter the number of lots and either tick cut-off price or enter a price within the band. SME IPOs need a price; cut-off is not allowed.
- Approve the UPI mandate. Approve the mandate in your UPI app before 5 pm on the closing day. The money is blocked, not debited, until allotment.
- Check allotment and sell if you choose. Allotted shares reach your Groww demat account the next working day. You can sell from the listing day.
Any demat account also lets you apply through ASBA in your bank's net banking. See the IPOs open this week.
How to open a Groww account
- Keep your documents ready. PAN, Aadhaar linked to your mobile number, a bank account with a cancelled cheque or statement, and your signature on white paper.
- Start on groww.in. Sign up on the Groww website or app with your mobile number and email, and verify the OTPs.
- Complete KYC online. Enter your PAN and Aadhaar details, link your bank account, and upload a photo and signature. Most brokers also do in-person verification by video or selfie.
- E-sign the form. Sign the account opening form with an Aadhaar OTP. The account is usually active within one or two working days.
Compare Groww with other brokers
- Groww vs Angel One
- Groww vs ICICI Direct
- Groww vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
- Groww vs Sahi
- Groww vs Upstox
- Groww vs Zerodha
- Groww vs 5paisa
- Groww vs Alice Blue
- Groww vs Bajaj Broking
- Groww vs Bigul (Bonanza)
- Groww vs Choice
- Groww vs Dhan
- Groww vs FYERS
- Groww vs Geojit
- Groww vs HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)
- Groww vs IIFL Capital
- Groww vs Indiabulls Securities
- Groww vs INDmoney
- Groww vs Jainam
- Groww vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
- Groww vs m.Stock
- Groww vs Mirae Asset Sharekhan
- Groww vs ProStocks
- Groww vs Rupeezy
- Groww vs SAMCO
- Groww vs Stoxkart
- Groww vs Tradejini
All brokers and charges compared
Frequently asked questions
What are the Groww account opening charges?
₹0. Demat AMC: ₹0.
What is the Groww brokerage on delivery?
₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5. Intraday: ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5.
What is the Groww DP charge?
₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100. The DP charge is collected each time you sell shares from your demat account, including IPO shares.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Groww?
Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww.
How do I apply for an IPO on Groww?
Open the IPO section of the Groww app, pick the IPO, enter the lots and price (or cut-off for mainboard IPOs), and approve the UPI mandate before 5 pm on the closing day.
What does it cost to sell IPO shares on Groww?
Selling ₹15,000 of IPO shares costs ₹41.30 in Groww brokerage and DP charge with GST, and ₹56.87 in all after STT, exchange and SEBI charges (our calculation).
Is Groww registered with SEBI?
Yes. Groww Invest Tech Private Limited is registered with SEBI as a stockbroker, INZ000301838, and as a depository participant, IN-DP-417-2019. You can confirm it on the SEBI website.
What is the Groww margin trading (MTF) interest rate?
14.95% a year on the funded amount.
Is Groww good for IPO investors?
It depends on how you invest. Compare the yearly AMC, the cost to sell IPO shares and SME IPO access below with other brokers. We list facts from Groww's own website and do not rate or rank brokers.