Live ·

Groww vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) for IPO investors

Groww vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹17.70 less at Groww (our calculation). Both let you apply for SME IPOs. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GrowwSEBI INZ000301838

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.1%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
0.20%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GrowwKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹17.70 less at Groww; a DP charge is not published₹41.30₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹566.40 less at Groww; a DP charge is not published₹47.20₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹212.40 less at Groww; a DP charge is not published₹495.60₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 at Groww, ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Groww, 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹3.50 depository at Groww, not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).

The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Groww vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGrowwKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s)
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or twoYes, on Kotak Neo with UPI
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for on GrowwYes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹50.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0)
DP charge on selling shares₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100Not stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000301838INZ000200137

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) pages.

Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) strengths and things worth checking

Groww

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.

  • DP charge on sale

    ₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.

More on Groww

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Strengths

  • ₹10 intraday and F&O
  • SME IPOs
  • Lower MTF on Pro

Worth checking

  • Delivery is a percentage

    0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page

    Check them before you sell IPO shares.

More on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Brokerage calculator: Groww vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

ChargeGrowwKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Groww or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Groww or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹17.70 less at Groww (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Groww ₹47.20, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) be over a year?

Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹212.40 less at Groww (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Both let you apply for SME IPOs.

What is the demat AMC at Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Groww: ₹0. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account.

What brokerage do Groww and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹17.70 at Groww and ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) (our calculation from their published rates).