Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.20%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
m.StockSEBI INZ000163138
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹10/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹33.04Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) | m.Stock |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹23.60 less at m.Stock; a DP charge is not published | ₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹33.04 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹578.20 less at m.Stock; a DP charge is not published | ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹33.04 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹283.20 less at m.Stock; a DP charge is not published | ₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹396.48 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹0 at m.Stock.
- Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹10 per order at m.Stock.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹18 plus GST per debit transaction at m.Stock.
- SME IPOs: Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO… at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), not stated at m.Stock.
The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs m.Stock: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) | m.Stock |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s) | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page | ₹0 |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on Kotak Neo with UPI | Yes, with a two-click application |
| SME IPOs | Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | 0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0) | ₹10 per order |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹18 plus GST per debit transaction |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000200137 | INZ000163138 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock pages.
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock strengths and things worth checking
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Strengths
- ₹10 intraday and F&O
- SME IPOs
- Lower MTF on Pro
Worth checking
- Delivery is a percentage
0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page
Check them before you sell IPO shares.
m.Stock
Strengths
- ₹10 per order
- ₹0 AMC
- Free call and trade
Worth checking
- System square-off is costly
₹100 plus GST per order if m.Stock squares off your intraday position.
- DP charge
₹18 plus GST per sale.
Brokerage calculator: Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs m.Stock
| Charge | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) | m.Stock |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) or m.Stock, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) or m.Stock?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹23.60 less at m.Stock (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, m.Stock ₹33.04 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock be over a year?
Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹283.20 less at m.Stock (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) lets you apply for SME IPOs; m.Stock does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account. m.Stock: ₹0.
What brokerage do Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and m.Stock charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and ₹11.80 at m.Stock (our calculation from their published rates).