Live ·

Groww vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors

Groww vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. Both let you apply for SME IPOs. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GrowwSEBI INZ000301838

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.1%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Groww and ICICI Direct differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GrowwICICI Direct
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹41.30Not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹47.20Not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published₹495.60Not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 at Groww, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Groww, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹3.50 depository at Groww, not stated at ICICI Direct.

The same at both: demat maintenance (AMC), Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Groww vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Groww and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGrowwICICI Direct
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or twoYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for on GrowwYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"
DP charge on selling shares₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100Not stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000301838INZ000183631

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Groww and ICICI Direct pages.

Groww and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking

Groww

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.

  • DP charge on sale

    ₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.

More on Groww

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

Brokerage calculator: Groww vs ICICI Direct

ChargeGrowwICICI Direct

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Groww and ICICI Direct would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Groww or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Groww or ICICI Direct?

ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Groww ₹47.20, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Groww and ICICI Direct be over a year?

Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Groww and ICICI Direct?

Both let you apply for SME IPOs.

Is account opening free at Groww and ICICI Direct?

Groww: ₹0. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.

What brokerage do Groww and ICICI Direct charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹17.70 at Groww and not published at ICICI Direct (our calculation from their published rates).