Live ·

Groww vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors

Groww vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors: 6 of the 7 charges we compare differ. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹8.85 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation). Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GrowwSEBI INZ000301838

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.1%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)SEBI INZ000302639

Account opening
Not stated
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.05%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) differ

6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GrowwPhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹8.85 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market); a DP charge is not published₹41.30₹8.85 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same brokerage at both; a DP charge is not published₹47.20₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹106.20 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market); a DP charge is not published₹495.60₹106.20 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 at Groww, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 at Groww, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Groww, ₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹3.50 depository at Groww, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • SME IPOs: Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww at Groww, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).

The same at both: mainboard IPOs.

Groww vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): charges side by side

Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGrowwPhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
Open an account
Account opening₹0Not stated on the pages we checked
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0Not stated on the pages we checked
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or twoYes
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for on GrowwNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower
DP charge on selling shares₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100Not stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000301838INZ000302639

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) pages.

Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) strengths and things worth checking

Groww

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.

  • DP charge on sale

    ₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.

More on Groww

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Strengths

  • Low cap on small orders

Worth checking

  • Account and DP charges not on the tariff page

    The tariff page we read lists no account opening, AMC or DP charge.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹30 extra per order for call and trade or auto square-off.

More on PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Brokerage calculator: Groww vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

ChargeGrowwPhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Groww or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Groww or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹8.85 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Groww ₹47.20, PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) be over a year?

Not in full, because PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹106.20 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

Groww: ₹0. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.

What is the demat AMC at Groww and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

Groww: ₹0. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.