Live ·

Groww vs SAMCO for IPO investors

Groww vs SAMCO for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹41.30 in broker charges at Groww and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GrowwSEBI INZ000301838

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.1%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 cap
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Groww and SAMCO differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GrowwSAMCO
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹5.90 less at Groww₹41.30₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same at both₹47.20₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹70.80 less at Groww₹495.60₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 at Groww, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Groww, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹3.50 depository at Groww, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.
  • SME IPOs: Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww at Groww, not stated at SAMCO.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Groww vs SAMCO: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Groww and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGrowwSAMCO
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or twoYes
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for on GrowwNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20)
DP charge on selling shares₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000301838INZ000002535

For other trading, equity intraday, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Groww and SAMCO pages.

Groww and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking

Groww

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.

  • DP charge on sale

    ₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.

More on Groww

SAMCO

Strengths

  • ₹20 cap

Worth checking

  • Two delivery rates on one page

    The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.

  • AMC after year one

    ₹400 plus taxes a year.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹50 plus taxes per order.

More on SAMCO

Brokerage calculator: Groww vs SAMCO

ChargeGrowwSAMCO

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Groww and SAMCO would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Groww or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Groww or SAMCO?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹41.30 in broker charges at Groww and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Groww ₹47.20, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Groww and SAMCO be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Groww costs ₹70.80 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Groww: ₹0; SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Groww and SAMCO?

Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Groww and SAMCO?

Groww: ₹0. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

What brokerage do Groww and SAMCO charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹17.70 at Groww and ₹23.60 at SAMCO (our calculation from their published rates).