Live ·

Geojit vs Groww for IPO investors

Geojit vs Groww for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 less at Groww (our calculation). Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; Geojit does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GeojitSEBI INZ000318938

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.30%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

GrowwSEBI INZ000301838

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.1%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Geojit and Groww differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GeojitGroww
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹35.40 less at Groww; a DP charge is not published₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not published₹41.30
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹861.40 less at Groww; a DP charge is not published₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹424.80 less at Groww; a DP charge is not published₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not published₹495.60

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Geojit, ₹0 at Groww.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.30% at Geojit, ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Groww.
  • DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Geojit, ₹3.50 depository at Groww.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Geojit, Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww at Groww.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Geojit vs Groww: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Geojit and Groww. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGeojitGroww
Open an account
Account openingNil₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)Not stated on the pages we checked₹0
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYesYes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or two
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.30%₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checked₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000318938INZ000301838

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Geojit and Groww pages.

Geojit and Groww strengths and things worth checking

Geojit

Strengths

  • Full-service support

Worth checking

  • Percentage brokerage on delivery

    0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page

    Check them before you open an account.

More on Geojit

Groww

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.

  • DP charge on sale

    ₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.

More on Groww

Brokerage calculator: Geojit vs Groww

ChargeGeojitGroww

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Geojit and Groww would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Geojit or Groww, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Geojit or Groww?

Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 less at Groww (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, Groww ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Geojit and Groww be over a year?

Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹424.80 less at Groww (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Geojit and Groww?

Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; Geojit does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Geojit and Groww?

Geojit: not stated. Groww: ₹0.

What brokerage do Geojit and Groww charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹53.10 at Geojit and ₹17.70 at Groww (our calculation from their published rates).