Live ·

Choice vs Groww for IPO investors

Choice vs Groww for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹41.30 at Groww (our calculation). Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

GrowwSEBI INZ000301838

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.1%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and Groww differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceGroww
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹5.90 less at Choice₹35.40₹41.30
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹11.80 less at Choice₹35.40₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹70.80 less at Choice₹424.80₹495.60

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, ₹0 at Groww.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, ₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5 at Groww.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, ₹3.50 depository at Groww.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Choice, Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww at Groww.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Choice vs Groww: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and Groww. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceGroww
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year₹0
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes, in the Stocks tab of the app with a UPI mandate. The mandate request arrives within an hour or two
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, SME IPOs can be applied for on Groww
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)₹20 or 0.1% per executed order, whichever is lower, minimum ₹5
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instruction₹3.50 depository (₹3.25 for women) plus ₹16.50 Groww per sell, plus GST; ₹0 when the debit value is under ₹100
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000301838

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and Groww pages.

Choice and Groww strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

Groww

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (0.1%, minimum ₹5) when you sell IPO shares.

  • DP charge on sale

    ₹20 plus GST each time you sell a stock from your demat account.

More on Groww

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs Groww

ChargeChoiceGroww

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and Groww would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or Groww, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or Groww?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹41.30 at Groww (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, Groww ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and Groww be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Choice costs ₹70.80 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year; Groww: ₹0.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and Groww?

Groww lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and Groww?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. Groww: ₹0.

What brokerage do Choice and Groww charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹17.70 at Groww (our calculation from their published rates).