Alice BlueSEBI INZ000156038
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 or 2.5%, lower
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Alice Blue and ICICI Direct differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Alice Blue | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹41.30 | Not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹41.30 | Not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹495.60 | Not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 at Alice Blue, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 2.5 per executed order, whichever is lower, as shown on the… at Alice Blue, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹15 plus GST per scrip, on sales only at Alice Blue, not stated at ICICI Direct.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Alice Blue, Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct.
The same at both: demat maintenance (AMC) and Mainboard IPOs.
Alice Blue vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Alice Blue and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Alice Blue | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for life on the current plan | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, with ₹0 brokerage | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 or 2.5 per executed order, whichever is lower, as shown on the pricing page | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹15 plus GST per scrip, on sales only | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000156038 | INZ000183631 |
For other trading, equity intraday and Futures differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Alice Blue and ICICI Direct pages.
Alice Blue and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking
Alice Blue
Strengths
- ₹0 AMC for life
- IPO applications free
Worth checking
- Brokerage on delivery
Up to ₹20 per order.
- DP charge
₹15 plus GST per sale.
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: Alice Blue vs ICICI Direct
| Charge | Alice Blue | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Alice Blue and ICICI Direct would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Alice Blue or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Alice Blue or ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Alice Blue ₹41.30, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Alice Blue and ICICI Direct be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Alice Blue and ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Alice Blue does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at Alice Blue and ICICI Direct?
Alice Blue: ₹0. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.
What brokerage do Alice Blue and ICICI Direct charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Alice Blue and not published at ICICI Direct (our calculation from their published rates).