Bigul (Bonanza)SEBI INZ000212137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹250/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹18/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct differ
7 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Bigul (Bonanza) | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹35.40 | Not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹35.40 | Not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹424.80 | Not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹18 per order at Bigul (Bonanza), Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST at Bigul (Bonanza), not stated at ICICI Direct.
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking at ICICI Direct.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct.
Bigul (Bonanza) vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side
Differs 7 of 7 charges differ between Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST; basic services demat accounts: ₹0 up to ₹4 lakh | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹18 per order | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000212137 | INZ000183631 |
For other trading, equity intraday and Futures differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct pages.
Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking
Bigul (Bonanza)
Strengths
- Flat ₹18
- DP charge with GST shown
Worth checking
- Pledge charge
₹118 per ISIN per request.
- IPO access not stated
The pricing page does not mention IPOs.
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: Bigul (Bonanza) vs ICICI Direct
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Bigul (Bonanza) or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Bigul (Bonanza) or ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Bigul (Bonanza) ₹35.40, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Bigul (Bonanza) does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct?
Bigul (Bonanza): ₹0. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.
What is the demat AMC at Bigul (Bonanza) and ICICI Direct?
Bigul (Bonanza): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST. ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.