Live ·

Dhan vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors

Dhan vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. Both let you apply for SME IPOs. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

DhanSEBI INZ000006031

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹14.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Dhan and ICICI Direct differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)DhanICICI Direct
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹14.75Not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹14.75Not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published₹177.00Not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs at Dhan, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹0 at Dhan, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN at Dhan, not stated at ICICI Direct.

The same at both: demat maintenance (AMC), Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Dhan vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Dhan and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeDhanICICI Direct
Open an account
Account opening₹0 for individuals and HUFs₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for individuals and HUFs (₹800 plus GST for NRIs, companies, LLPs, firms and trusts)₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, free, with UPIYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPIYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹0Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"
DP charge on selling shares₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISINNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000006031INZ000183631

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Dhan and ICICI Direct pages.

Dhan and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking

Dhan

Strengths

  • ₹0 brokerage on delivery
  • Low DP charge
  • ₹0 AMC and account opening

Worth checking

  • Dealer orders cost extra

    Call and trade is ₹50 plus GST per order.

  • MTF rate rises with size

    From 12.49% a year, up to 15.49% on larger amounts.

More on Dhan

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

Brokerage calculator: Dhan vs ICICI Direct

ChargeDhanICICI Direct

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Dhan and ICICI Direct would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Dhan or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Dhan or ICICI Direct?

ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Dhan ₹14.75, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Dhan and ICICI Direct be over a year?

Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Dhan and ICICI Direct?

Both let you apply for SME IPOs.

Is account opening free at Dhan and ICICI Direct?

Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.

What brokerage do Dhan and ICICI Direct charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹0.00 at Dhan and not published at ICICI Direct (our calculation from their published rates).