Live ·

Dhan vs Sahi for IPO investors

Dhan vs Sahi for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹24.78 at Sahi (our calculation). Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; Sahi does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

DhanSEBI INZ000006031

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹14.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

SahiSEBI INZ000317632

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹10 or 0.05%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹24.78Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Dhan and Sahi differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)DhanSahi
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹10.03 less at Dhan₹14.75₹24.78
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹12.98 less at Dhan₹14.75₹27.73
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹120.36 less at Dhan₹177.00₹297.36

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹0 at Dhan, ₹10 or 0.05% per order, whichever is lower at Sahi.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN at Dhan, ₹13.50 per company at Sahi.
  • SME IPOs: Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI at Dhan, not stated at Sahi.

The same at both: account opening, Demat maintenance (AMC) and Mainboard IPOs.

Dhan vs Sahi: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Dhan and Sahi. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeDhanSahi
Open an account
Account opening₹0 for individuals and HUFsFree
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for individuals and HUFs (₹800 plus GST for NRIs, companies, LLPs, firms and trusts)Free
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, free, with UPIYes, free
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPINot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹0₹10 or 0.05% per order, whichever is lower
DP charge on selling shares₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN₹13.50 per company (GST not stated; we add 18% in our calculation)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000006031INZ000317632

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Dhan and Sahi pages.

Dhan and Sahi strengths and things worth checking

Dhan

Strengths

  • ₹0 brokerage on delivery
  • Low DP charge
  • ₹0 AMC and account opening

Worth checking

  • Dealer orders cost extra

    Call and trade is ₹50 plus GST per order.

  • MTF rate rises with size

    From 12.49% a year, up to 15.49% on larger amounts.

More on Dhan

Sahi

Strengths

  • ₹10 cap
  • ₹0 AMC and account opening
  • IPOs free

Worth checking

  • Newer broker

    Registered with SEBI in 2024.

  • DP charge

    ₹13.50 per sale.

More on Sahi

Brokerage calculator: Dhan vs Sahi

ChargeDhanSahi

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Dhan and Sahi would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Dhan or Sahi, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Dhan or Sahi?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹24.78 at Sahi (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Dhan ₹14.75, Sahi ₹27.73 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Dhan and Sahi be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Dhan costs ₹120.36 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs; Sahi: Free.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Dhan and Sahi?

Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; Sahi does not say so on the pages we checked.

What brokerage do Dhan and Sahi charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹0.00 at Dhan and ₹8.85 at Sahi (our calculation from their published rates).

What DP charge do Dhan and Sahi take when I sell IPO shares?

For one sale of ₹15,000, with GST: ₹14.75 at Dhan; ₹15.93 at Sahi (our calculation). It is charged on each sale from your demat account.