ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
RupeezySEBI INZ000187932
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.1%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and Rupeezy differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | Rupeezy |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹17.70 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹295.00 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹212.40 brokerage; DP charge not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at Rupeezy.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, Zero AMC for life for accounts opened after 15 Jun 2024 at Rupeezy.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, 0.1% on buy and sell at Rupeezy.
- Mainboard IPOs: Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking at ICICI Direct, not stated at Rupeezy.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at Rupeezy.
The same at both: dP charge on selling shares.
ICICI Direct vs Rupeezy: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Rupeezy. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Rupeezy |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | Zero AMC for life for accounts opened after 15 Jun 2024 |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | 0.1% on buy and sell |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated for market sales (₹25 for off-market transfers) |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000187932 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Rupeezy pages.
ICICI Direct and Rupeezy strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Rupeezy
Strengths
- Zero AMC
- Lower MTF
Worth checking
- Delivery has no cap
0.1% on each side: ₹15 on a ₹15,000 sale, more on bigger ones.
- DP charge on market sales not stated
Check it before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Rupeezy
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Rupeezy |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and Rupeezy would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs ICICI Direct
- Groww vs ICICI Direct
- ICICI Direct vs Upstox
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Rupeezy
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Rupeezy, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Rupeezy?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Rupeezy ₹295.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Rupeezy be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Rupeezy?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Rupeezy does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Rupeezy?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Rupeezy: ₹0.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and Rupeezy?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. Rupeezy: Zero AMC for life for accounts opened after 15 Jun 2024.