ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
StoxkartSEBI INZ000196835
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and Stoxkart differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | Stoxkart |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹283.20 brokerage; DP charge not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at Stoxkart.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, not stated at Stoxkart.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹20 per executed order at Stoxkart.
- Mainboard IPOs: Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking at ICICI Direct, not stated at Stoxkart.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at Stoxkart.
The same at both: dP charge on selling shares.
ICICI Direct vs Stoxkart: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Stoxkart. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Stoxkart |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | ₹20 per executed order |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000196835 |
For other trading, futures differs too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Stoxkart pages.
ICICI Direct and Stoxkart strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Stoxkart
Strengths
- Flat ₹20
Worth checking
- AMC, DP and IPO details not on the pricing page
Check them before you open an account.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Stoxkart
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Stoxkart |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and Stoxkart would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Stoxkart, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Stoxkart?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Stoxkart ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Stoxkart be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Stoxkart?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Stoxkart does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Stoxkart?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Stoxkart: ₹0.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and Stoxkart?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. Stoxkart: not stated.