ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
IIFL CapitalSEBI INZ000164132
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹250/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.25%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹73.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | IIFL Capital |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹73.75 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹767.00 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹885.00 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at IIFL Capital.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year at IIFL Capital.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, 0.25% at IIFL Capital.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, ₹25 plus GST per scrip at IIFL Capital.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at IIFL Capital.
The same at both: mainboard IPOs.
ICICI Direct vs IIFL Capital: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | IIFL Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | ₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Yes |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | 0.25% |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹25 plus GST per scrip |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000164132 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital pages.
ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
IIFL Capital
Strengths
- Full-service support
- Lower AMC
Worth checking
- Percentage brokerage on delivery
0.25% with no cap: ₹37.50 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- DP charge
₹25 plus GST per sale.
- System square-off
₹100 per order.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs IIFL Capital
| Charge | ICICI Direct | IIFL Capital |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or IIFL Capital, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or IIFL Capital?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, IIFL Capital ₹767.00 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; IIFL Capital does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. IIFL Capital: ₹0.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and IIFL Capital?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. IIFL Capital: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year.