ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
SahiSEBI INZ000317632
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹10 or 0.05%, lower
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹24.78Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and Sahi differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | Sahi |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹24.78 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹27.73 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹297.36 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, Free at Sahi.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹10 or 0.05% per order, whichever is lower at Sahi.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, ₹13.50 per company at Sahi.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at Sahi.
The same at both: demat maintenance (AMC) and Mainboard IPOs.
ICICI Direct vs Sahi: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Sahi. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Sahi |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | Free |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | Free |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Yes, free |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | ₹10 or 0.05% per order, whichever is lower |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹13.50 per company (GST not stated; we add 18% in our calculation) |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000317632 |
For other trading, equity intraday and Futures differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Sahi pages.
ICICI Direct and Sahi strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Sahi
Strengths
- ₹10 cap
- ₹0 AMC and account opening
- IPOs free
Worth checking
- Newer broker
Registered with SEBI in 2024.
- DP charge
₹13.50 per sale.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Sahi
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Sahi |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and Sahi would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs ICICI Direct
- Groww vs ICICI Direct
- ICICI Direct vs Upstox
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Sahi
- Sahi vs Zerodha
- Dhan vs Sahi
- Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Sahi
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Sahi
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Sahi, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Sahi?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Sahi ₹27.73 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Sahi be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Sahi?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Sahi does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Sahi?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Sahi: Free.
What brokerage do ICICI Direct and Sahi charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is not published at ICICI Direct and ₹8.85 at Sahi (our calculation from their published rates).