Live ·

ICICI Direct vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors

ICICI Direct vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)SEBI INZ000302639

Account opening
Not stated
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.05%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ICICI DirectPhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹8.85 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹106.20 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).

The same at both: dP charge on selling shares and Mainboard IPOs.

ICICI Direct vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeICICI DirectPhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
Open an account
Account opening₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account typeNot stated on the pages we checked
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second yearNot stated on the pages we checked
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)Yes
SME IPOsYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPINot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerageDepends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000183631INZ000302639

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) pages.

ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) strengths and things worth checking

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Strengths

  • Low cap on small orders

Worth checking

  • Account and DP charges not on the tariff page

    The tariff page we read lists no account opening, AMC or DP charge.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹30 extra per order for call and trade or auto square-off.

More on PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

ChargeICICI DirectPhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with ICICI Direct or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) be over a year?

Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.

What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.