ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 cap
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and SAMCO differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | SAMCO |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at SAMCO.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at SAMCO.
The same at both: mainboard IPOs.
ICICI Direct vs SAMCO: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | SAMCO |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Yes |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20) |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000002535 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and SAMCO pages.
ICICI Direct and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
SAMCO
Strengths
- ₹20 cap
Worth checking
- Two delivery rates on one page
The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.
- AMC after year one
₹400 plus taxes a year.
- Dealer orders
₹50 plus taxes per order.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs SAMCO
| Charge | ICICI Direct | SAMCO |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and SAMCO would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or SAMCO?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and SAMCO be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and SAMCO?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and SAMCO?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. SAMCO: ₹0.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and SAMCO?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.