ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Mirae Asset SharekhanSEBI INZ000171337
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.30%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹53.10Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | Mirae Asset Sharekhan |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹53.10 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹885.00 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹637.20 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at Mirae Asset Sharekhan.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, ₹400 a year, free for the first year at Mirae Asset Sharekhan.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, 0.30% of trade value at Mirae Asset Sharekhan.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, Nil when sold through Mirae Asset Sharekhan at Mirae Asset Sharekhan.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at Mirae Asset Sharekhan.
The same at both: mainboard IPOs.
ICICI Direct vs Mirae Asset Sharekhan: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Mirae Asset Sharekhan |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | ₹400 a year, free for the first year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Yes |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | 0.30% of trade value (minimum 1 paisa a share) |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | Nil when sold through Mirae Asset Sharekhan |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000171337 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan pages.
ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Mirae Asset Sharekhan
Strengths
- No DP charge on sales
- Free call and trade
- Research and branches
Worth checking
- Percentage brokerage on delivery
0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- Options per lot
₹39 per lot each side.
- MTF at 18%
Margin trading interest is 18% a year.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Mirae Asset Sharekhan
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Mirae Asset Sharekhan, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Mirae Asset Sharekhan?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Mirae Asset Sharekhan ₹885.00 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Mirae Asset Sharekhan does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Mirae Asset Sharekhan: ₹0.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and Mirae Asset Sharekhan?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. Mirae Asset Sharekhan: ₹400 a year, free for the first year.