Live ·

ICICI Direct vs m.Stock for IPO investors

ICICI Direct vs m.Stock for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; m.Stock does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

m.StockSEBI INZ000163138

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹10/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹33.04Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where ICICI Direct and m.Stock differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ICICI Directm.Stock
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹33.04
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹33.04
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹396.48

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at m.Stock.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹10 per order at m.Stock.
  • DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, ₹18 plus GST per debit transaction at m.Stock.
  • SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at m.Stock.

The same at both: demat maintenance (AMC) and Mainboard IPOs.

ICICI Direct vs m.Stock: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and m.Stock. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeICICI Directm.Stock
Open an account
Account opening₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year₹0
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)Yes, with a two-click application
SME IPOsYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPINot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerageDepends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"₹10 per order
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checked₹18 plus GST per debit transaction
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000183631INZ000163138

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and m.Stock pages.

ICICI Direct and m.Stock strengths and things worth checking

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

m.Stock

Strengths

  • ₹10 per order
  • ₹0 AMC
  • Free call and trade

Worth checking

  • System square-off is costly

    ₹100 plus GST per order if m.Stock squares off your intraday position.

  • DP charge

    ₹18 plus GST per sale.

More on m.Stock

Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs m.Stock

ChargeICICI Directm.Stock

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and m.Stock would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with ICICI Direct or m.Stock, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or m.Stock?

ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, m.Stock ₹33.04 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and m.Stock be over a year?

Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and m.Stock?

ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; m.Stock does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and m.Stock?

ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. m.Stock: ₹0.

What brokerage do ICICI Direct and m.Stock charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is not published at ICICI Direct and ₹11.80 at m.Stock (our calculation from their published rates).