Live ·

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. Both let you apply for SME IPOs. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)SEBI INZ000186937

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹240/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 2.5%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)ICICI Direct
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹47.20Not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹47.20Not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published₹566.40Not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: Free at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lower at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 per scrip at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), not stated at ICICI Direct.

The same at both: mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)ICICI Direct
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST (basic services demat accounts under ₹50,000: ₹0)₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on HDFC SkyYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)
SME IPOsYes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one clickYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lowerDepends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"
DP charge on selling shares₹20 per scrip (the support page does not say whether GST is extra; we add 18% in our calculation)Not stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000186937INZ000183631

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct pages.

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

Strengths

  • Flat ₹20 cap
  • SME IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening

Worth checking

  • AMC after year one

    ₹20 a month plus GST from the second year.

  • Two MTF rates published

    The pricing page says 1% a month and the support page says 15% a year. Confirm before you use margin funding.

  • DP charge

    ₹20 per sale.

More on HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

Brokerage calculator: HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs ICICI Direct

ChargeHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)ICICI Direct

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) or ICICI Direct?

ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) ₹47.20, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct be over a year?

Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct?

Both let you apply for SME IPOs.

Is account opening free at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct?

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): Free. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.

What is the demat AMC at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and ICICI Direct?

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST. ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.