Bajaj BrokingSEBI INZ000218931
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 (pack ₹431/yr from year 2)
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹64.90Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Bajaj Broking | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹64.90 | Not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹64.90 | Not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹778.80 | Not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: Nil at Bajaj Broking, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Nil, but the Freedom Pack subscription is ₹431 a year from the second… at Bajaj Broking, ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 per order at Bajaj Broking, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹35 or 0.0002% of the value, whichever is higher, plus taxes at Bajaj Broking, not stated at ICICI Direct.
The same at both: mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.
Bajaj Broking vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Bajaj Broking | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | Nil | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Nil, but the Freedom Pack subscription is ₹431 a year from the second year (free in the first) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
| SME IPOs | Yes. SME IPOs are listed with an Apply Now option | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 per order (Professional Pack: ₹10, for ₹2,500 a year) | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹35 or 0.0002% of the value, whichever is higher, plus taxes | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000218931 | INZ000183631 |
For other trading, futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct pages.
Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking
Bajaj Broking
Strengths
- Cheaper dealer orders
- No demat AMC
- SME IPOs
Worth checking
- Pack fee from year two
₹431 a year for the Freedom Pack.
- Higher DP charge
₹35 plus taxes per sale.
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: Bajaj Broking vs ICICI Direct
| Charge | Bajaj Broking | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Bajaj Broking or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Bajaj Broking or ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Bajaj Broking ₹64.90, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct?
Both let you apply for SME IPOs.
Is account opening free at Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct?
Bajaj Broking: Nil. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.
What is the demat AMC at Bajaj Broking and ICICI Direct?
Bajaj Broking: Nil, but the Freedom Pack subscription is ₹431 a year from the second…. ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.