Live ·

Geojit vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors

Geojit vs ICICI Direct for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Geojit does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GeojitSEBI INZ000318938

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.30%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Geojit and ICICI Direct differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GeojitICICI Direct
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not publishedNot published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not publishedNot published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not publishedNot published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: Nil at Geojit, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Geojit, ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.30% at Geojit, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Geojit, Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct.

The same at both: dP charge on selling shares and Mainboard IPOs.

Geojit vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Geojit and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGeojitICICI Direct
Open an account
Account openingNil₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type
Demat maintenance (AMC)Not stated on the pages we checked₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYesYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.30%Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000318938INZ000183631

For other trading, equity intraday and Futures differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Geojit and ICICI Direct pages.

Geojit and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking

Geojit

Strengths

  • Full-service support

Worth checking

  • Percentage brokerage on delivery

    0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page

    Check them before you open an account.

More on Geojit

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

Brokerage calculator: Geojit vs ICICI Direct

ChargeGeojitICICI Direct

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Geojit and ICICI Direct would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Geojit or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Geojit or ICICI Direct?

Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Geojit and ICICI Direct be over a year?

Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Geojit and ICICI Direct?

ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Geojit does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at Geojit and ICICI Direct?

Geojit: Nil. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.

What is the demat AMC at Geojit and ICICI Direct?

Geojit: not stated. ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year.