ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
TradejiniSEBI INZ000160938
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and Tradejini differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | Tradejini |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹283.20 brokerage; DP charge not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, Free online at Tradejini.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, not stated at Tradejini.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹20 per order at Tradejini.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at Tradejini.
The same at both: dP charge on selling shares and Mainboard IPOs.
ICICI Direct vs Tradejini: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Tradejini. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Tradejini |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | Free online |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Yes, ₹0 commission |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | ₹20 per order |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000160938 |
For other trading, futures differs too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Tradejini pages.
ICICI Direct and Tradejini strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Tradejini
Strengths
- Flat ₹20
- IPOs free
Worth checking
- AMC and DP charge not on the list of charges
Check them before you open an account.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Tradejini
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Tradejini |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and Tradejini would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Tradejini, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Tradejini?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Tradejini ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Tradejini be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Tradejini?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Tradejini does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Tradejini?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Tradejini: Free online.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and Tradejini?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. Tradejini: not stated.