ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
JainamSEBI INZ000198735
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 (DIY) or 0.4%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹44.84Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and Jainam differ
7 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | Jainam |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹44.84 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹44.84 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹538.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 online at Jainam.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, not stated at Jainam.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, DIY: ₹20 per order at Jainam.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, DIY: ₹18 per scrip at Jainam.
- Mainboard IPOs: Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking at ICICI Direct, not stated at Jainam.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at Jainam.
ICICI Direct vs Jainam: charges side by side
Differs 7 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Jainam. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Jainam |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | ₹0 online |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | DIY: ₹20 per order; Premium: 0.4% |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | DIY: ₹18 per scrip; Premium: ₹25 per request plus GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000198735 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Jainam pages.
ICICI Direct and Jainam strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Jainam
Strengths
- Two plans
Worth checking
- Premium delivery is 0.4%
₹60 on a ₹15,000 sale on the Premium plan. Our calculator uses the DIY plan.
- DIY dealer orders cost ₹70
Plus ₹20 brokerage and GST.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Jainam
| Charge | ICICI Direct | Jainam |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and Jainam would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Jainam, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Jainam?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Jainam ₹44.84 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Jainam be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Jainam?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; Jainam does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Jainam?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Jainam: ₹0 online.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and Jainam?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. Jainam: not stated.