FYERSSEBI INZ000008524
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 or 0.3%, lower
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹38.35Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where FYERS and ICICI Direct differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | FYERS | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹38.35 | Not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹38.35 | Not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | ₹460.20 | Not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 at FYERS, ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.3% per executed order, whichever is lower at FYERS, Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per scrip at FYERS, not stated at ICICI Direct.
- SME IPOs: The help page lists applications by type at FYERS, Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct.
The same at both: demat maintenance (AMC) and Mainboard IPOs.
FYERS vs ICICI Direct: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between FYERS and ICICI Direct. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | FYERS | ICICI Direct |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for trading and demat accounts | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on the FYERS web and mobile platforms, with ₹0 brokerage | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) |
| SME IPOs | The help page lists applications by type (mainboard or SME) in the IPO section | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 or 0.3% per executed order, whichever is lower (Prime: ₹15 or 0.3%) | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹12.50 plus GST per scrip (ISIN) | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000008524 | INZ000183631 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the FYERS and ICICI Direct pages.
FYERS and ICICI Direct strengths and things worth checking
FYERS
Strengths
- ₹0 AMC and account opening
- IPO applications free
- Low DP charge
Worth checking
- Brokerage on delivery
Up to ₹20 per order (₹15 on Prime).
- MTF on small amounts
16.49% a year on funding up to ₹1 lakh.
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: FYERS vs ICICI Direct
| Charge | FYERS | ICICI Direct |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what FYERS and ICICI Direct would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with FYERS or ICICI Direct, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, FYERS or ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: FYERS ₹38.35, ICICI Direct Not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between FYERS and ICICI Direct be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on FYERS and ICICI Direct?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; FYERS does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at FYERS and ICICI Direct?
FYERS: ₹0. ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type.
What brokerage do FYERS and ICICI Direct charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at FYERS and not published at ICICI Direct (our calculation from their published rates).