Live ·

ICICI Direct vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) for IPO investors

ICICI Direct vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. Both let you apply for SME IPOs. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631

Account opening
₹0 to ₹975
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
Depends on plan
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
0.20%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ICICI DirectKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not publishedNot published₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, ₹0 on the Trade Free plan at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).

The same at both: dP charge on selling shares, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

ICICI Direct vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeICICI DirectKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Open an account
Account opening₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s)
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA)Yes, on Kotak Neo with UPI
SME IPOsYes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPIYes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerageDepends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%"0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0)
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000183631INZ000200137

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) pages.

ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) strengths and things worth checking

ICICI Direct

Strengths

  • Bank-linked
  • ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo

Worth checking

  • Higher AMC

    ₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.

  • Account opening fee

    Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.

  • Delivery and DP charges not on the page

    Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.

More on ICICI Direct

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Strengths

  • ₹10 intraday and F&O
  • SME IPOs
  • Lower MTF on Pro

Worth checking

  • Delivery is a percentage

    0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page

    Check them before you sell IPO shares.

More on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

ChargeICICI DirectKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with ICICI Direct or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) be over a year?

Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Both let you apply for SME IPOs.

Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 on the Trade Free plan.

What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account.