ICICI DirectSEBI INZ000183631
- Account opening
- ₹0 to ₹975
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹700/yr
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- Depends on plan
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
ProStocksSEBI INZ000048660
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 (₹1,000 deposit)
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹23.60Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ICICI Direct and ProStocks differ
7 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ICICI Direct | ProStocks |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹23.60 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Difference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹23.60 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldDifference not worked out: a charge is not published | Not published | ₹283.20 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type at ICICI Direct, No fee listed at ProStocks.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year at ICICI Direct, None at ProStocks.
- Equity delivery brokerage: Depends on the plan at ICICI Direct, ₹0 at ProStocks.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at ICICI Direct, ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST at ProStocks.
- Mainboard IPOs: Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking at ICICI Direct, not stated at ProStocks.
- SME IPOs: Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI at ICICI Direct, not stated at ProStocks.
ICICI Direct vs ProStocks: charges side by side
Differs 7 of 7 charges differ between ICICI Direct and ProStocks. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ICICI Direct | ProStocks |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type | No fee listed (online application) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year | None; ₹1,000 refundable demat deposit |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on ICICI Direct with UPI, or through ICICI Bank net banking (ASBA) | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| SME IPOs | Yes, the SME IPO page links to applying through UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | Depends on the plan; not stated on the page we checked. Prime plans say "as low as 0.07%" | ₹0 (flat fee plan) |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000183631 | INZ000048660 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ICICI Direct and ProStocks pages.
ICICI Direct and ProStocks strengths and things worth checking
ICICI Direct
Strengths
- Bank-linked
- ₹0 futures brokerage on Neo
Worth checking
- Higher AMC
₹700 plus taxes a year from the second year.
- Account opening fee
Up to ₹975, depending on the account type.
- Delivery and DP charges not on the page
Ask ICICI Direct for the delivery brokerage and DP charge on your plan before you sell IPO shares.
ProStocks
Strengths
- ₹0 delivery brokerage
- No AMC
- Cheap dealer orders
Worth checking
- Refundable deposit
₹1,000 demat deposit.
- IPO access not stated
The pricing page does not mention IPO applications.
Brokerage calculator: ICICI Direct vs ProStocks
| Charge | ICICI Direct | ProStocks |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ICICI Direct and ProStocks would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with ICICI Direct or ProStocks, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ICICI Direct or ProStocks?
ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ICICI Direct Not published, ProStocks ₹23.60 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ICICI Direct and ProStocks be over a year?
Not in full, because ICICI Direct does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ICICI Direct and ProStocks?
ICICI Direct lets you apply for SME IPOs; ProStocks does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ICICI Direct and ProStocks?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 to ₹975, depending on the account type. ProStocks: No fee listed.
What is the demat AMC at ICICI Direct and ProStocks?
ICICI Direct: ₹0 in the first year, ₹700 plus taxes from the second year. ProStocks: None.