Live ·

Sahi vs Upstox for IPO investors

Sahi vs Upstox for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹24.78 in broker charges at Sahi and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Sahi does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

SahiSEBI INZ000317632

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹10 or 0.05%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹24.78Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Sahi and Upstox differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)SahiUpstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹22.42 less at Sahi₹24.78₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹19.47 less at Sahi₹27.73₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹269.04 less at Sahi₹297.36₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free at Sahi, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹10 or 0.05% per order, whichever is lower at Sahi, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹13.50 per company at Sahi, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Sahi, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Sahi vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Sahi and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeSahiUpstox
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹10 or 0.05% per order, whichever is lower₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling shares₹13.50 per company (GST not stated; we add 18% in our calculation)₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000317632INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Sahi and Upstox pages.

Sahi and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

Sahi

Strengths

  • ₹10 cap
  • ₹0 AMC and account opening
  • IPOs free

Worth checking

  • Newer broker

    Registered with SEBI in 2024.

  • DP charge

    ₹13.50 per sale.

More on Sahi

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: Sahi vs Upstox

ChargeSahiUpstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Sahi and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Sahi or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Sahi or Upstox?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹24.78 in broker charges at Sahi and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Sahi ₹27.73, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Sahi and Upstox be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Sahi costs ₹269.04 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Sahi: Free; Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Sahi and Upstox?

Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Sahi does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Sahi and Upstox?

Sahi: Free. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do Sahi and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹8.85 at Sahi and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).