Live ·

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors: 6 of the 7 charges we compare differ. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation). HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) lets you apply for SME IPOs; PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)SEBI INZ000186937

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹240/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 2.5%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)SEBI INZ000302639

Account opening
Not stated
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.05%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) differ

6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹14.75 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market); a DP charge is not published₹47.20₹8.85 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same brokerage at both; a DP charge is not published₹47.20₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹177.00 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market); a DP charge is not published₹566.40₹106.20 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: Free at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lower at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), ₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 per scrip at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • SME IPOs: Yes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one click at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).

The same at both: mainboard IPOs.

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): charges side by side

Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
Open an account
Account openingFreeNot stated on the pages we checked
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST (basic services demat accounts under ₹50,000: ₹0)Not stated on the pages we checked
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on HDFC SkyYes
SME IPOsYes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one clickNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lower₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower
DP charge on selling shares₹20 per scrip (the support page does not say whether GST is extra; we add 18% in our calculation)Not stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000186937INZ000302639

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) pages.

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) strengths and things worth checking

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

Strengths

  • Flat ₹20 cap
  • SME IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening

Worth checking

  • AMC after year one

    ₹20 a month plus GST from the second year.

  • Two MTF rates published

    The pricing page says 1% a month and the support page says 15% a year. Confirm before you use margin funding.

  • DP charge

    ₹20 per sale.

More on HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Strengths

  • Low cap on small orders

Worth checking

  • Account and DP charges not on the tariff page

    The tariff page we read lists no account opening, AMC or DP charge.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹30 extra per order for call and trade or auto square-off.

More on PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Brokerage calculator: HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

ChargeHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) ₹47.20, PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) be over a year?

Not in full, because PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹177.00 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) lets you apply for SME IPOs; PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): Free. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.

What is the demat AMC at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.