Live ·

Choice vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors

Choice vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)SEBI INZ000302639

Account opening
Not stated
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.05%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoicePhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹14.75 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market); a DP charge is not published₹35.40₹8.85 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same brokerage at both; a DP charge is not published₹35.40₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹177.00 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market); a DP charge is not published₹424.80₹106.20 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: Free at Choice, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, ₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, not stated at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market).

The same at both: mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Choice vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoicePhonePe Invest (Share.Market)
Open an account
Account openingFreeNot stated on the pages we checked
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a yearNot stated on the pages we checked
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)₹20 or 0.05% per executed order, whichever is lower
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instructionNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000302639

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) pages.

Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Strengths

  • Low cap on small orders

Worth checking

  • Account and DP charges not on the tariff page

    The tariff page we read lists no account opening, AMC or DP charge.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹30 extra per order for call and trade or auto square-off.

More on PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

ChargeChoicePhonePe Invest (Share.Market)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) be over a year?

Not in full, because PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹177.00 less at PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

Is account opening free at Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

Choice: Free. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and PhonePe Invest (Share.Market)?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. PhonePe Invest (Share.Market): not stated.