RupeezySEBI INZ000187932
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.1%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Rupeezy and Upstox differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Rupeezy | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹5.90 less at Rupeezy; a DP charge is not published | ₹17.70 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹271.40 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published | ₹295.00 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹70.80 less at Rupeezy; a DP charge is not published | ₹212.40 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Zero AMC for life for accounts opened after 15 Jun 2024 at Rupeezy, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
- Equity delivery brokerage: 0.1% on buy and sell at Rupeezy, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Rupeezy, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Rupeezy, Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate at Upstox.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Rupeezy, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.
The same at both: account opening.
Rupeezy vs Upstox: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Rupeezy and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Rupeezy | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Zero AMC for life for accounts opened after 15 Jun 2024 | ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms) |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | 0.1% on buy and sell | ₹20 per executed order |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated for market sales (₹25 for off-market transfers) | ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women) |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000187932 | INZ000315837 |
For other trading, futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Rupeezy and Upstox pages.
Rupeezy and Upstox strengths and things worth checking
Rupeezy
Strengths
- Zero AMC
- Lower MTF
Worth checking
- Delivery has no cap
0.1% on each side: ₹15 on a ₹15,000 sale, more on bigger ones.
- DP charge on market sales not stated
Check it before you sell IPO shares.
Upstox
Strengths
- Zero commission on IPOs
- ₹0 account opening
- SME IPOs in the app
Worth checking
- Flat ₹20 on delivery
Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.
- Dealer orders cost more
Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.
- AMC after the first year
₹300 plus GST a year.
Brokerage calculator: Rupeezy vs Upstox
| Charge | Rupeezy | Upstox |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Rupeezy and Upstox would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Upstox
- Groww vs Upstox
- ICICI Direct vs Upstox
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- INDmoney vs Upstox
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Rupeezy
Every comparison with Rupeezy or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Rupeezy or Upstox?
Rupeezy does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹5.90 less at Rupeezy (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Rupeezy ₹295.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Rupeezy and Upstox be over a year?
Not in full, because Rupeezy does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹70.80 less at Rupeezy (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Rupeezy and Upstox?
Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Rupeezy does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Rupeezy and Upstox?
Rupeezy: Zero AMC for life for accounts opened after 15 Jun 2024. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.
What brokerage do Rupeezy and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹17.70 at Rupeezy and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).