Live ·

m.Stock vs Upstox for IPO investors

m.Stock vs Upstox for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹33.04 in broker charges at m.Stock and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; m.Stock does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

m.StockSEBI INZ000163138

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹10/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹33.04Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where m.Stock and Upstox differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)m.StockUpstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹14.16 less at m.Stock₹33.04₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹14.16 less at m.Stock₹33.04₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹169.92 less at m.Stock₹396.48₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 at m.Stock, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹10 per order at m.Stock, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹18 plus GST per debit transaction at m.Stock, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at m.Stock, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

m.Stock vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between m.Stock and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

Chargem.StockUpstox
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, with a two-click applicationYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹10 per order₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling shares₹18 plus GST per debit transaction₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000163138INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the m.Stock and Upstox pages.

m.Stock and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

m.Stock

Strengths

  • ₹10 per order
  • ₹0 AMC
  • Free call and trade

Worth checking

  • System square-off is costly

    ₹100 plus GST per order if m.Stock squares off your intraday position.

  • DP charge

    ₹18 plus GST per sale.

More on m.Stock

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: m.Stock vs Upstox

Chargem.StockUpstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what m.Stock and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with m.Stock or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, m.Stock or Upstox?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹33.04 in broker charges at m.Stock and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: m.Stock ₹33.04, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between m.Stock and Upstox be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, m.Stock costs ₹169.92 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: m.Stock: ₹0; Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on m.Stock and Upstox?

Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; m.Stock does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at m.Stock and Upstox?

m.Stock: ₹0. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do m.Stock and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹11.80 at m.Stock and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).