Live ·

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Upstox for IPO investors

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Upstox for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹11.80 less at Upstox (our calculation). Both let you apply for SME IPOs. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
0.20%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)Upstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹11.80 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹566.40 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹141.60 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.

The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)Upstox
Open an account
Account opening₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s)₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on Kotak Neo with UPIYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsYes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPIYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0)₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checked₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000200137INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox pages.

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Strengths

  • ₹10 intraday and F&O
  • SME IPOs
  • Lower MTF on Pro

Worth checking

  • Delivery is a percentage

    0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page

    Check them before you sell IPO shares.

More on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Upstox

ChargeKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)Upstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) or Upstox?

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹11.80 less at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox be over a year?

Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹141.60 less at Upstox (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox?

Both let you apply for SME IPOs.

What is the demat AMC at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox?

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).