DhanSEBI INZ000006031
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹14.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.20%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) differ
4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Dhan | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹35.40 less at Dhan; a DP charge is not published | ₹14.75 | ₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹590.00 less at Dhan; a DP charge is not published | ₹14.75 | ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹424.80 less at Dhan; a DP charge is not published | ₹177.00 | ₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for individuals and HUFs at Dhan, ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹0 at Dhan, 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN at Dhan, not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.
Dhan vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): charges side by side
Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Dhan | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 for individuals and HUFs | ₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for individuals and HUFs (₹800 plus GST for NRIs, companies, LLPs, firms and trusts) | ₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, free, with UPI | Yes, on Kotak Neo with UPI |
| SME IPOs | Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI | Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹0 | 0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0) |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000006031 | INZ000200137 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) pages.
Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) strengths and things worth checking
Dhan
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Low DP charge
- ₹0 AMC and account opening
Worth checking
- Dealer orders cost extra
Call and trade is ₹50 plus GST per order.
- MTF rate rises with size
From 12.49% a year, up to 15.49% on larger amounts.
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Strengths
- ₹10 intraday and F&O
- SME IPOs
- Lower MTF on Pro
Worth checking
- Delivery is a percentage
0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page
Check them before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: Dhan vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
| Charge | Dhan | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Dhan vs INDmoney
- Dhan vs Sahi
- Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs m.Stock
- Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Sahi
Every comparison with Dhan or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Dhan or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 less at Dhan (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Dhan ₹14.75, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) be over a year?
Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹424.80 less at Dhan (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?
Both let you apply for SME IPOs.
What is the demat AMC at Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?
Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account.
What brokerage do Dhan and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹0.00 at Dhan and ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) (our calculation from their published rates).