StoxkartSEBI INZ000196835
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Stoxkart and Upstox differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Stoxkart | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Same brokerage at both; a DP charge is not published | ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same brokerage at both; a DP charge is not published | ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldSame brokerage at both; a DP charge is not published | ₹283.20 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Stoxkart, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Stoxkart, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Stoxkart, Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate at Upstox.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Stoxkart, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.
The same at both: account opening and Equity delivery brokerage.
Stoxkart vs Upstox: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Stoxkart and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Stoxkart | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms) |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 per executed order | ₹20 per executed order |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women) |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000196835 | INZ000315837 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Stoxkart and Upstox pages.
Stoxkart and Upstox strengths and things worth checking
Stoxkart
Strengths
- Flat ₹20
Worth checking
- AMC, DP and IPO details not on the pricing page
Check them before you open an account.
Upstox
Strengths
- Zero commission on IPOs
- ₹0 account opening
- SME IPOs in the app
Worth checking
- Flat ₹20 on delivery
Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.
- Dealer orders cost more
Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.
- AMC after the first year
₹300 plus GST a year.
Brokerage calculator: Stoxkart vs Upstox
| Charge | Stoxkart | Upstox |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Stoxkart and Upstox would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Stoxkart or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Stoxkart or Upstox?
Stoxkart does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Stoxkart ₹23.60 brokerage; DP charge not published, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Stoxkart and Upstox be over a year?
Not in full, because Stoxkart does not publish its DP charge.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Stoxkart and Upstox?
Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Stoxkart does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Stoxkart and Upstox?
Stoxkart: not stated. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.
What DP charge do Stoxkart and Upstox take when I sell IPO shares?
For one sale of ₹15,000, with GST: Stoxkart does not publish it; ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation). It is charged on each sale from your demat account.