Live ·

SAMCO vs Upstox for IPO investors

SAMCO vs Upstox for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs the same ₹47.20 in broker charges at both. Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 cap
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where SAMCO and Upstox differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)SAMCOUpstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Same at both₹47.20₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same at both₹47.20₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldSame at both₹566.40₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at SAMCO, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

SAMCO vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between SAMCO and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeSAMCOUpstox
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYesYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20)₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling shares₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000002535INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the SAMCO and Upstox pages.

SAMCO and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

SAMCO

Strengths

  • ₹20 cap

Worth checking

  • Two delivery rates on one page

    The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.

  • AMC after year one

    ₹400 plus taxes a year.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹50 plus taxes per order.

More on SAMCO

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: SAMCO vs Upstox

ChargeSAMCOUpstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what SAMCO and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with SAMCO or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, SAMCO or Upstox?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs the same ₹47.20 in broker charges at both. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: SAMCO ₹47.20, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between SAMCO and Upstox be over a year?

Nothing on selling: 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹566.40 at both (our calculation). Compare the yearly AMC as well.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on SAMCO and Upstox?

Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at SAMCO and Upstox?

SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do SAMCO and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at SAMCO and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).