Live ·

ProStocks vs Upstox for IPO investors

ProStocks vs Upstox for IPO investors: 7 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹23.60 in broker charges at ProStocks and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; ProStocks does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ProStocksSEBI INZ000048660

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 (₹1,000 deposit)
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹23.60Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where ProStocks and Upstox differ

7 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ProStocksUpstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹23.60 less at ProStocks₹23.60₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹23.60 less at ProStocks₹23.60₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹283.20 less at ProStocks₹283.20₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: No fee listed at ProStocks, ₹0 at Upstox.
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): None at ProStocks, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹0 at ProStocks, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST at ProStocks, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
  • Mainboard IPOs: not stated at ProStocks, Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate at Upstox.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at ProStocks, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.

ProStocks vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 7 of 7 charges differ between ProStocks and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeProStocksUpstox
Open an account
Account openingNo fee listed (online application)₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)None; ₹1,000 refundable demat deposit₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹0 (flat fee plan)₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling shares₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000048660INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ProStocks and Upstox pages.

ProStocks and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

ProStocks

Strengths

  • ₹0 delivery brokerage
  • No AMC
  • Cheap dealer orders

Worth checking

  • Refundable deposit

    ₹1,000 demat deposit.

  • IPO access not stated

    The pricing page does not mention IPO applications.

More on ProStocks

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: ProStocks vs Upstox

ChargeProStocksUpstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ProStocks and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with ProStocks or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ProStocks or Upstox?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹23.60 in broker charges at ProStocks and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ProStocks ₹23.60, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between ProStocks and Upstox be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, ProStocks costs ₹283.20 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: ProStocks: None; Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on ProStocks and Upstox?

Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; ProStocks does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at ProStocks and Upstox?

ProStocks: No fee listed. Upstox: ₹0.

What is the demat AMC at ProStocks and Upstox?

ProStocks: None. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.