Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.20%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
ZerodhaSEBI INZ000031633
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹15.34Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha differ
4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹35.40 less at Zerodha; a DP charge is not published | ₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹15.34 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹590.00 less at Zerodha; a DP charge is not published | ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹15.34 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹424.80 less at Zerodha; a DP charge is not published | ₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹184.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus… at Zerodha.
- Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹0 at Zerodha.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), ₹13 plus GST per scrip at Zerodha.
The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Zerodha: charges side by side
Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s) | ₹0 for individual accounts (₹500 for NRI, partnership, LLP and corporate accounts) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page | Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus GST, charged quarterly |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on Kotak Neo with UPI | Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI | Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and no net banking fallback if the UPI payment fails |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | 0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0) | ₹0 |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹13 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL, ₹9.50 Zerodha); ₹15.34 with GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000200137 | INZ000031633 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha pages.
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha strengths and things worth checking
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Strengths
- ₹10 intraday and F&O
- SME IPOs
- Lower MTF on Pro
Worth checking
- Delivery is a percentage
0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page
Check them before you sell IPO shares.
Zerodha
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Lower DP charge
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹300 a year plus GST for a regular demat account.
- SME IPO limits
One bid per SME IPO, and if the UPI payment fails you cannot apply by net banking.
- Dealer orders cost extra
₹50 per order through call and trade or auto square-off.
Brokerage calculator: Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Zerodha
| Charge | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) | Zerodha |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Zerodha
- Sahi vs Zerodha
- Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs m.Stock
- Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) vs Sahi
Every comparison with Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) or Zerodha, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) or Zerodha?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 less at Zerodha (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, Zerodha ₹15.34 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha be over a year?
Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹424.80 less at Zerodha (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha?
Both let you apply for SME IPOs.
What is the demat AMC at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account. Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
What brokerage do Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and Zerodha charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) and ₹0.00 at Zerodha (our calculation from their published rates).