Live ·

Jainam vs Upstox for IPO investors

Jainam vs Upstox for IPO investors: 6 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹44.84 in broker charges at Jainam and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Jainam does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

JainamSEBI INZ000198735

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 (DIY) or 0.4%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹44.84Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Jainam and Upstox differ

6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)JainamUpstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹2.36 less at Jainam₹44.84₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹2.36 less at Jainam₹44.84₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹28.32 less at Jainam₹538.08₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Jainam, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: DIY: ₹20 per order at Jainam, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: DIY: ₹18 per scrip at Jainam, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
  • Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Jainam, Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate at Upstox.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Jainam, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.

The same at both: account opening.

Jainam vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Jainam and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeJainamUpstox
Open an account
Account opening₹0 online₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)Not stated on the pages we checked₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerageDIY: ₹20 per order; Premium: 0.4%₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling sharesDIY: ₹18 per scrip; Premium: ₹25 per request plus GST₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000198735INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Jainam and Upstox pages.

Jainam and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

Jainam

Strengths

  • Two plans

Worth checking

  • Premium delivery is 0.4%

    ₹60 on a ₹15,000 sale on the Premium plan. Our calculator uses the DIY plan.

  • DIY dealer orders cost ₹70

    Plus ₹20 brokerage and GST.

More on Jainam

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: Jainam vs Upstox

ChargeJainamUpstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Jainam and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Jainam or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Jainam or Upstox?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹44.84 in broker charges at Jainam and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Jainam ₹44.84, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Jainam and Upstox be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Jainam costs ₹28.32 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Jainam: not stated; Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Jainam and Upstox?

Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Jainam does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Jainam and Upstox?

Jainam: not stated. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do Jainam and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Jainam and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).