GeojitSEBI INZ000318938
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.30%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Geojit and Upstox differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Geojit | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹29.50 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published | ₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹861.40 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published | ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹354.00 less at Upstox; a DP charge is not published | ₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Geojit, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
- Equity delivery brokerage: 0.30% at Geojit, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Geojit, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Geojit, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.
The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.
Geojit vs Upstox: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Geojit and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Geojit | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | Nil | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms) |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes | Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | 0.30% | ₹20 per executed order |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women) |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000318938 | INZ000315837 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Geojit and Upstox pages.
Geojit and Upstox strengths and things worth checking
Geojit
Strengths
- Full-service support
Worth checking
- Percentage brokerage on delivery
0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page
Check them before you open an account.
Upstox
Strengths
- Zero commission on IPOs
- ₹0 account opening
- SME IPOs in the app
Worth checking
- Flat ₹20 on delivery
Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.
- Dealer orders cost more
Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.
- AMC after the first year
₹300 plus GST a year.
Brokerage calculator: Geojit vs Upstox
| Charge | Geojit | Upstox |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Geojit and Upstox would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Geojit or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Geojit or Upstox?
Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹29.50 less at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Geojit and Upstox be over a year?
Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹354.00 less at Upstox (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Geojit and Upstox?
Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Geojit does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Geojit and Upstox?
Geojit: not stated. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.
What brokerage do Geojit and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹53.10 at Geojit and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).