Live ·

FYERS vs Upstox for IPO investors

FYERS vs Upstox for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹38.35 in broker charges at FYERS and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; FYERS does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

FYERSSEBI INZ000008524

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 0.3%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹38.35Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where FYERS and Upstox differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)FYERSUpstox
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹8.85 less at FYERS₹38.35₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹8.85 less at FYERS₹38.35₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹106.20 less at FYERS₹460.20₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for trading and demat accounts at FYERS, ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 0.3% per executed order, whichever is lower at FYERS, ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per scrip at FYERS, ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
  • SME IPOs: The help page lists applications by type at FYERS, Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

FYERS vs Upstox: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between FYERS and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeFYERSUpstox
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for trading and demat accounts₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, on the FYERS web and mobile platforms, with ₹0 brokerageYes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate
SME IPOsThe help page lists applications by type (mainboard or SME) in the IPO sectionYes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 0.3% per executed order, whichever is lower (Prime: ₹15 or 0.3%)₹20 per executed order
DP charge on selling shares₹12.50 plus GST per scrip (ISIN)₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000008524INZ000315837

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the FYERS and Upstox pages.

FYERS and Upstox strengths and things worth checking

FYERS

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC and account opening
  • IPO applications free
  • Low DP charge

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order (₹15 on Prime).

  • MTF on small amounts

    16.49% a year on funding up to ₹1 lakh.

More on FYERS

Upstox

Strengths

  • Zero commission on IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening
  • SME IPOs in the app

Worth checking

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.

  • Dealer orders cost more

    Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.

  • AMC after the first year

    ₹300 plus GST a year.

More on Upstox

Brokerage calculator: FYERS vs Upstox

ChargeFYERSUpstox

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what FYERS and Upstox would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with FYERS or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, FYERS or Upstox?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹38.35 in broker charges at FYERS and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: FYERS ₹38.35, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between FYERS and Upstox be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, FYERS costs ₹106.20 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: FYERS: ₹0 for trading and demat accounts; Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on FYERS and Upstox?

Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; FYERS does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at FYERS and Upstox?

FYERS: ₹0 for trading and demat accounts. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do FYERS and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at FYERS and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).