DhanSEBI INZ000006031
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹14.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 cap
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Dhan and SAMCO differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Dhan | SAMCO |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹32.45 less at Dhan | ₹14.75 | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹32.45 less at Dhan | ₹14.75 | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹389.40 less at Dhan | ₹177.00 | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for individuals and HUFs at Dhan, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹0 at Dhan, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN at Dhan, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.
- SME IPOs: Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI at Dhan, not stated at SAMCO.
The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.
Dhan vs SAMCO: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Dhan and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Dhan | SAMCO |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 for individuals and HUFs | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for individuals and HUFs (₹800 plus GST for NRIs, companies, LLPs, firms and trusts) | ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, free, with UPI | Yes |
| SME IPOs | Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹0 | ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20) |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN | ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000006031 | INZ000002535 |
For other trading, equity intraday and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Dhan and SAMCO pages.
Dhan and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking
Dhan
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Low DP charge
- ₹0 AMC and account opening
Worth checking
- Dealer orders cost extra
Call and trade is ₹50 plus GST per order.
- MTF rate rises with size
From 12.49% a year, up to 15.49% on larger amounts.
SAMCO
Strengths
- ₹20 cap
Worth checking
- Two delivery rates on one page
The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.
- AMC after year one
₹400 plus taxes a year.
- Dealer orders
₹50 plus taxes per order.
Brokerage calculator: Dhan vs SAMCO
| Charge | Dhan | SAMCO |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Dhan and SAMCO would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Dhan or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Dhan or SAMCO?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Dhan ₹14.75, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Dhan and SAMCO be over a year?
If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Dhan costs ₹389.40 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs; SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Dhan and SAMCO?
Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Dhan and SAMCO?
Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.
What brokerage do Dhan and SAMCO charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹0.00 at Dhan and ₹23.60 at SAMCO (our calculation from their published rates).