Live ·

Dhan vs ProStocks for IPO investors

Dhan vs ProStocks for IPO investors: 6 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹23.60 at ProStocks (our calculation). Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; ProStocks does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

DhanSEBI INZ000006031

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹14.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

ProStocksSEBI INZ000048660

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 (₹1,000 deposit)
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹23.60Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Dhan and ProStocks differ

6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)DhanProStocks
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹8.85 less at Dhan₹14.75₹23.60
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹8.85 less at Dhan₹14.75₹23.60
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹106.20 less at Dhan₹177.00₹283.20

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs at Dhan, No fee listed at ProStocks.
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for individuals and HUFs at Dhan, None at ProStocks.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN at Dhan, ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST at ProStocks.
  • Mainboard IPOs: Yes, free, with UPI at Dhan, not stated at ProStocks.
  • SME IPOs: Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI at Dhan, not stated at ProStocks.

The same at both: equity delivery brokerage.

Dhan vs ProStocks: charges side by side

Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Dhan and ProStocks. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeDhanProStocks
Open an account
Account opening₹0 for individuals and HUFsNo fee listed (online application)
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for individuals and HUFs (₹800 plus GST for NRIs, companies, LLPs, firms and trusts)None; ₹1,000 refundable demat deposit
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, free, with UPINot stated on the pages we checked
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPINot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹0₹0 (flat fee plan)
DP charge on selling shares₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000006031INZ000048660

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Dhan and ProStocks pages.

Dhan and ProStocks strengths and things worth checking

Dhan

Strengths

  • ₹0 brokerage on delivery
  • Low DP charge
  • ₹0 AMC and account opening

Worth checking

  • Dealer orders cost extra

    Call and trade is ₹50 plus GST per order.

  • MTF rate rises with size

    From 12.49% a year, up to 15.49% on larger amounts.

More on Dhan

ProStocks

Strengths

  • ₹0 delivery brokerage
  • No AMC
  • Cheap dealer orders

Worth checking

  • Refundable deposit

    ₹1,000 demat deposit.

  • IPO access not stated

    The pricing page does not mention IPO applications.

More on ProStocks

Brokerage calculator: Dhan vs ProStocks

ChargeDhanProStocks

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Dhan and ProStocks would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Dhan or ProStocks, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Dhan or ProStocks?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹23.60 at ProStocks (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Dhan ₹14.75, ProStocks ₹23.60 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Dhan and ProStocks be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Dhan costs ₹106.20 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs; ProStocks: None.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Dhan and ProStocks?

Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; ProStocks does not say so on the pages we checked.

Is account opening free at Dhan and ProStocks?

Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs. ProStocks: No fee listed.

What is the demat AMC at Dhan and ProStocks?

Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs. ProStocks: None.