Live ·

Choice vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) for IPO investors

Choice vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹11.80 less at Choice (our calculation). Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
0.20%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹11.80 less at Choice; a DP charge is not published₹35.40₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹566.40 less at Choice; a DP charge is not published₹35.40₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹141.60 less at Choice; a DP charge is not published₹424.80₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, ₹0 for a basic services demat account at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Choice, Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO… at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Choice vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s)
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes, on Kotak Neo with UPI
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0)
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instructionNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000200137

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) pages.

Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Strengths

  • ₹10 intraday and F&O
  • SME IPOs
  • Lower MTF on Pro

Worth checking

  • Delivery is a percentage

    0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page

    Check them before you sell IPO shares.

More on Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

ChargeChoiceKotak Securities (Kotak Neo)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹11.80 less at Choice (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) be over a year?

Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹141.60 less at Choice (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): ₹0 for a basic services demat account.

What brokerage do Choice and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) (our calculation from their published rates).