Live ·

Choice vs Dhan for IPO investors

Choice vs Dhan for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹35.40 at Choice (our calculation). Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

DhanSEBI INZ000006031

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹14.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and Dhan differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceDhan
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹20.65 less at Dhan₹35.40₹14.75
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹20.65 less at Dhan₹35.40₹14.75
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹247.80 less at Dhan₹424.80₹177.00

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, ₹0 for individuals and HUFs at Dhan.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, ₹0 at Dhan.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, ₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN at Dhan.
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Choice, Yes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI at Dhan.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Choice vs Dhan: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and Dhan. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceDhan
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0 for individuals and HUFs
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year₹0 for individuals and HUFs (₹800 plus GST for NRIs, companies, LLPs, firms and trusts)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes, free, with UPI
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, SME IPOs can be applied for with mobile UPI
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)₹0
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instruction₹12.50 plus GST per instruction per ISIN
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000006031

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and Dhan pages.

Choice and Dhan strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

Dhan

Strengths

  • ₹0 brokerage on delivery
  • Low DP charge
  • ₹0 AMC and account opening

Worth checking

  • Dealer orders cost extra

    Call and trade is ₹50 plus GST per order.

  • MTF rate rises with size

    From 12.49% a year, up to 15.49% on larger amounts.

More on Dhan

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs Dhan

ChargeChoiceDhan

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and Dhan would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or Dhan, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or Dhan?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹14.75 in broker charges at Dhan and ₹35.40 at Choice (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, Dhan ₹14.75 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and Dhan be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Dhan costs ₹247.80 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year; Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and Dhan?

Dhan lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and Dhan?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. Dhan: ₹0 for individuals and HUFs.

What brokerage do Choice and Dhan charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹0.00 at Dhan (our calculation from their published rates).