Bigul (Bonanza)SEBI INZ000212137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹250/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹18/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
UpstoxSEBI INZ000315837
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Bigul (Bonanza) | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹11.80 less at Bigul (Bonanza) | ₹35.40 | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹11.80 less at Bigul (Bonanza) | ₹35.40 | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹141.60 less at Bigul (Bonanza) | ₹424.80 | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year at Upstox.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹18 per order at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹20 per executed order at Upstox.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day at Upstox.
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate at Upstox.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a… at Upstox.
The same at both: account opening.
Bigul (Bonanza) vs Upstox: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | Upstox |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST; basic services demat accounts: ₹0 up to ₹4 lakh | ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year (BSDA accounts have separate terms) |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, in the IPO section of the app with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, using the SME IPO filter in the IPO section. SME bids need a price; cut-off is not allowed |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹18 per order | ₹20 per executed order |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST | ₹20 plus GST per scrip per day (₹3.50 CDSL and ₹16.50 Upstox; ₹3.25 and ₹16.75 for women) |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000212137 | INZ000315837 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox pages.
Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox strengths and things worth checking
Bigul (Bonanza)
Strengths
- Flat ₹18
- DP charge with GST shown
Worth checking
- Pledge charge
₹118 per ISIN per request.
- IPO access not stated
The pricing page does not mention IPOs.
Upstox
Strengths
- Zero commission on IPOs
- ₹0 account opening
- SME IPOs in the app
Worth checking
- Flat ₹20 on delivery
Even a small sale of IPO shares costs ₹20 brokerage plus a ₹20 plus GST DP charge.
- Dealer orders cost more
Call and trade and auto square-off cost ₹75 plus GST each.
- AMC after the first year
₹300 plus GST a year.
Brokerage calculator: Bigul (Bonanza) vs Upstox
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | Upstox |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Bigul (Bonanza) or Upstox, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Bigul (Bonanza) or Upstox?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Bigul (Bonanza) and ₹47.20 at Upstox (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Bigul (Bonanza) ₹35.40, Upstox ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox be over a year?
If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Bigul (Bonanza) costs ₹141.60 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Bigul (Bonanza): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST; Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox?
Upstox lets you apply for SME IPOs; Bigul (Bonanza) does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox?
Bigul (Bonanza): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST. Upstox: ₹0 in the first year for new customers, then ₹300 plus GST a year.
What brokerage do Bigul (Bonanza) and Upstox charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹21.24 at Bigul (Bonanza) and ₹23.60 at Upstox (our calculation from their published rates).